Don’t Follow The Leader — Be The Leader!

“I intend to give back every evil deed done to me,” one of the females said.

Annelise Lords
Be Open
Published in
5 min readDec 14, 2023

--

Image by Annelise Lords

Sitting by the sea, my thoughts fighting the cruelty and thoughtlessness of humanity that refuses to end or give love and peace a chance while battling with the pain that just can’t let go. I can’t seem to stop it from consuming me. A weird laughter stole my attention away, taking some of the pain with it. I stole a quick breath in relief, hoping the pain would stay away. I followed the voice to a group of females talking about returning the cruelty, hatred, thoughtlessness, and injustice done to them by humanity.

I tuned in like a musician fine-tuning his guitar strings for the best rhythm.

“I intend to give back every evil deed done to me,” one of the females said.

The three others agreed and began to share all the bad intentions, choices, decisions, actions, mistakes, etc., dished out to them by humanity.

With raised brows, my instincts wondered, why?

“Don’t ask me!” a voice nearby said. “I don’t do any of that.”

I glanced around. I was alone and they were giggling about leaving an eight-year-old child alone because the mother was always late when paying her. She also shortchanged her for…

--

--