Filipino Proverbs That We Can Learn From

Local culture, wisdom, and philosophies from Filipino life

RAINNA
Be Open

--

Photo by Denniz Futalan from Pexels

I grew up with my grandmother while both of my parents were working abroad. I pretty much grew up with people who are three decades older than me, and I often hear these proverbs.

As I recall my younger years in the Philippines, there are some Filipino sayings that I’ve learned when I was young, and they still have value in my life that I want to share.

Filipino Proverbs That We Can Learn From:

1.) Habang may buhay, may pag-asa.

In English: While there is life, there is hope.

→ I heard one of the pastors in our church in the Philippines said, “You can lose everything, just don’t lose hope.”. I think this Filipino proverb applies to every part of our lives; it could be in our career, family, self-growth, financially, and pretty much every aspect of our lives.

When we get a terrible breakup, some of us wanted to end our lives. I know someone who got heartbroken because she got cheated on by her boyfriend, then she tried to kill herself by drinking cleaning chemicals.

Sometimes we go through difficulties, and we wanted to give up, but we forgot that there

--

--

RAINNA
Be Open
Writer for

Currently writing a memoir• I write about JESUS, life lessons, health, relationships & self-improvement•Featured in Thought Catalog & Elephant Journal🇵🇭🇨🇦