How My Imaginary BFF Motivates Me

A poem and a fun talk!

Vidhyadhari M
Be Open
2 min readSep 26, 2024

--

Image - illustration by the Author

My brave cub, come near
It’s alright to lose, my dear.

The true battle isn’t with the world
But with hues of your thoughts, whirled.

Cleanse your palette, dark or bright
Especially before you sleep at night.

The sun rises, bringing a new way
Jump, leap and play the day

Capable and brave that you are
Always believe you’ll win the war.

Hey! I’m Bee! I’m just a figment of imagination and V’s fictitious BFF. If you want to know more about me, you could read some of her writings.
She often writes about our episodes and me of course.
I think she’s a little obsessed with me but I mean, who wouldn’t be? I’m a catch!

I may be a fictional being but don’t look down on me, guys. Just wiggle and get inspired by my awesomeness while I help my bestie. C’mon!

Now let me tell you something about V; She often has sticky notes attached to her head board. Yeah, I know, tacky!
“Stick it to some table or something, not where you sleep on”, I said many times.
But hey, she’s gonna do whatever helps her to keep going. So don’t judge!
That’s my job. Cough.
(bestie privileges and all that.)

Image- illustration by the Author

When life gives you lemons, make some lemonade.
Probably heard the saying, didn’t you?
But sometimes, V struggles to even get up to do the task, in spite of me screaming in her head, “squeeze the heck out of ‘em!”

She has always needed a new recipe every now and then to boost and hike through life. So when she thought,
“I crave a new path, to pull me up from scath,
A new motivation, to build the lost dedication,
Some words or a song, help me pull along.”

I replied,
“Let's write a poem on a new yellow note!
Words of a lioness to its baby, keeping it afloat!”

So, yeah.. that’s the thing you’ve read before I introduced myself.
Now go read it again!

--

--

Vidhyadhari M
Be Open

Hi there! I hope my writings bring a smile to your face or plant a positive thought in your mind. Ooh and I also try to write poetry. Just saying.