How to Enhance Your Artwork to Create Interesting Featured Images

Also, taking a break from the computer screen and playing with colors is good for your mental health

Walter Rhein
Be Open
Published in
12 min readNov 26, 2022

--

Image by Walter Rhein

I remember sitting in art class when I was a Sophomore in high school. The girl who sat near me must have been a junior or a senior. She was one of those girls you meet every now and then who just exudes kindness.

I was pretty shy and I wasn’t about to pester her, but it was frankly a delight just to be in her presence. Towards the end of the year, people at our table started commenting on whether we’d be taking art the next year.

Our school only offered two art classes “drawing” and “painting” or something like that. The art show tended to be a collection of paintings of white tail deer, and something weird that I’d created. It was kind of hilarious actually.

I’d taken both of the offered art classes, so I hadn’t signed up for art the next year. I admitted that to the group with a shrug.

Immediately, the pretty upperclassman looked at me with an expression of sincere remorse, “You’re not taking art next year? But you’re so good!” she said. I was so stunned by her reaction that I don’t think I managed to respond.

--

--

Walter Rhein
Be Open

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com