How & Why I Became A Published Author

B. J. Vanderhoof
Be Open
Published in
5 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

Becoming a published author is one best of things I have ever done. It may not be for the reasons you are thinking. But I am getting ahead of myself. Let's start with the how.

How I Became A Published Author

As I am sure you all know, there are really three ways to achieve the dream of publication. Traditional publishing is where you submit your manuscript and hope someone actually reads it, or you even hear back. Then there is hybrid publishing where authors pay a fee to a publishing company to help publish their book. Finally, there is self-publishing, where authors are on their own.

I have published two books, and have used two of the three ways of publishing. As you can probably guess by my introduction to traditional publishing, I did not follow the traditional route. I was too impatient to even try, knowing it was a long process and a lot of rejection. So, that leaves the other two options.

With my first book, The Prophecy of the Gate, I chose the hybrid method. I researched different companies and chose Covenant Books as my publisher. If you choose to go this route, make sure you do your research, read reviews, and go over any contract before you would sign. I know there are companies out there that try and scam authors every day. I chose Covenant based on its values, price…

--

--

B. J. Vanderhoof
Be Open

Writer and story teller who loves fantasy & science Fiction. Two published novels. bjvanderhoof.com