I Regret My Absurd Social Behavior!

Pratibha Verma
Be Open
Published in
3 min readAug 7, 2024

--

Shy! Shy! Shy! is what I felt during my school days. I was unable to make good friends, which I never wanted to. Why? Because it was not a voice from inside. A flame was burning in me to actively socialize, but I ended up being a weirdo. Sometimes, I was cool enough to argue, but other times, I felt like I reacted at the wrong time.

To make you understand better, let me share something ‘’improper.’’ I am a millennial and now I think I remember most of my class incidents like they happened yesterday. My school name was St. Mary’s Inter College. When I passed my eighth class and got promoted to ninth, it was an unmatched feeling. I mostly took exams as a day war — -no prior preparation and no practice.

Oh! coming up to that incident. It was a daily morning, and my brother as usual got ready on time but I got him late with my sluggish acts. He thrashed me for being so slow but it was getting my habit. Finally, we reached but the assembly wasn’t crowded. Students were yet to come for prayer. In a few minutes, all gathered. Everything seemed similar as I left the last day of my eighth standard, but a new face popped out.

Who is he? I wondered about this new guy. I tried to figure him out from top to bottom and was shocked. At that time, I never saw an overweight boy like him. His cheeks had some reddish tone but it didn’t look like he…

--

--