If Only I Could Soar

poem

Muhammad Ali
Be Open
2 min read17 hours ago

--

The freedom of the endless blue
the gentle lift of the warm, soft breeze
gliding over valleys kissed by morning dew
dancing in currents, feeling at ease

I want to perch on the highest trees,
bathed in the sun’s golden glow,
singing to the world with a voice that frees,
and soar through the clouds where the wild winds blow.

From sprawling forests to mountains so grand,
to meadows alive with colors bright,
I should have been born with wings to expand,
for it’s only in the sky that I can truly take flight.

I’d spend my days on branches high,
nestled among leaves, a home made of dreams,
coasting on whispers from the vast open sky,
sipping on nectar from flowers’ sweet streams.

Or I could wander to shimmering lakes,
where reflections dance under the sunset’s blaze,
watching the ripples as the evening breaks,
making friends with the stars in their silvery haze.

I could travel the world, following the sun,
for when you can fly, every place is your own.
From each distant land, I’d gather a feather spun,
woven with stories, in every flight zone.

I would sing lullabies to the weary below,
for I’d see the struggles of life from above,
I’d marvel at cities, their bustling flow,
but cherish my freedom, a gift wrapped in love.

Then back to glide with the swallows at dusk,
twirling and playing till the day’s final gleam,
I could rest on a breeze, gentle and brusque,
and dream of tomorrow, where I can once more dream.

--

--