Knits and Purls

Giovanni Sanchez Sumano
Be Open
Published in
2 min readOct 23, 2021
Photo by Margarida Afonso on Unsplash

Knit, purl, knit, purl, purl… Oh my god! I made a mistake. It is not a problem. I can undo that stitch and start again. Knit and purl, one more row. Back and forth creating a shawl. What is going to be my next project?

Knit and purl, and the sound of the needles calm me while the yarn touches my skin. I am almost done, and I am already thinking of what to make next. Do I knit a scarf, or do I try that crochet pattern?

When I discovered knitting or crochet, I filled myself with the feeling of wonder. I look at the things I had made since I started learning and notice what I am capable of.

I tend to doubt myself of what I can do. When someone congratulates me, I doubt it is real. Is it real or they are telling me that to don’t make me feel bad?
I continue my journey to learn what I am capable to do. It is a journey that I know is long and with ups and downs.

I start to say to myself “Congratulations on what did you achieve”. There are days that I hate myself, at that moment I stop and think about why I am hurting myself. Is it because I try to be perfect?

Life is not perfect; it is a lot messy and that is what makes it interesting.
Today I made a mistake, and I punish myself. Then someone came and told me that it is not my fault. You did it with the tools you have. It is not perfect, but you give the best. I remind myself to don’t be so harsh with myself. I need to love myself before I let other love.

If I keep giving my love away to others when I am going to love myself
Knit, purl, knit, purl, knit. Let me add another stitch and see how it ends. If I don’t like it, I can frog it and start over.

This reminds me that you can start again. You can fall to the ground, but you don’t need to get attached to the floor. Stand up and clean the dust. Take that lesson and continue the life road.

Life is a mess, so you don’t need to be perfect, please give you the permission to be full of flaws.

--

--

Giovanni Sanchez Sumano
Be Open
Writer for

I am a writter looking for ways to share what is in my mind