My Experience Joining a Cult-like Business “Opportunity”

A year on

Rudo Manomano
Be Open

--

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

You know how they say if something seems too good to be true, it probably is? Well, I certainly learned that lesson the hard way.

It started when I got this amazing-sounding offer to be an apprentice for this big-shot blogging entrepreneur. The pitch was that in exchange for helping out with their company, I’d get incredible business coaching, free training, and access to their profitable systems. It was marketed as a golden opportunity to get mentored by someone who had already made it big.

My partner tried to pump the brakes, suspecting there might be some shady motives behind it all. But I was too starry-eyed to listen to their concerns. More education and insider knowledge? How could that possibly be bad? I brushed off the skepticism, confident this was totally legit.

At first, it really did feel awesome to be taken under the wing of this “successful” business-woman. I was getting a glimpse behind the curtain at how to run an online empire that I’d always dreamed of building myself someday. But then things started feeling…off.

Instead of real hands-on training, we apprentices were just kind of tossed into the deep end. Whenever issues came up, we were told to just magically figure it out ourselves. No actual mentorship, just…

--

--

Rudo Manomano
Be Open

A young female blogger | science student | passionate about community, life and personal development