Nature and I — How Strange

Kayla Pepperworth
Be Open
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2023
Image by Brady Knoll from Pexels

You know, it’s strange. It’s strange the impact certain things can have on us. It’s strange how certain things can make us feel at peace and calm when the disorder and confusion of everyday life surround us.

For me, it is nature. Nothing else can quite compare.

It’s strange how the simple action of stepping outside alleviates the anxiety that fills my head and body. Being in the presence of nature has a way of ceasing all my worries and thoughts. Though, I have never really been able to figure out why.

When I am stressed, I go outside. When I am upset, I go outside. When I need a break, I go outside. When I need to clear my head, I go outside. When I am outside, I feel like I can breathe easily again and relax. The mayhem, the turmoil, and the chaos finally quiet until all that is left is just me and nature.

The light breeze flowing through my hair. The feeling of warmth from the sun’s rays on my arms and face. The sound of birds chirping and leaves rustling. My stresses and problems automatically melt away. It’s like I can see things clearly again.

It’s strange how nature brings balance. Within nature, things coexist and live side by side. Insects like bees pollinate flowers when they feed on a plant’s nectar. Trees provide oxygen for us to breathe. Decaying plants fertilize the soil, which other organisms feed off to live. Thunderstorms bring in water that helps things grow.

In the end, nature brings balance to me as well. So, maybe I do get it after all. Nature and I are connected in a sense. I am my best self in the presence of such beauty and life. To me, nature provides me with an escape. It heals me. It gives me a sense of peace. All I do know is how nature makes me feel.

Nature, it’s a strange phenomenon, but it is one I, for one, am not complaining about.

--

--

Kayla Pepperworth
Be Open
Writer for

College student who goes with the flow and is up for any adventure