The Little Spirit that Could, and How She Got to Where She Was Going

In response to Coffee Challenge; Why I am a pro shoutout movement

Ilana Lydia
Be Open

--

Once there was a spirit trapped in time and space. She didn’t know the rules here, and even when she figured them out, they kept on changing on her.

This spirit, Little Engine, tried and tried to make an impact on time and space. She would push her creations into being, and will them with a mighty thought: “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.”

Little Engine was making a modest impact on her surroundings, picking up the occasional passenger and taking them to new and exciting places. But something was missing in the equation.

“I think I can, I think I can, I think I can,” she forced herself to say, day in and day out. She got very tired, and the load, although light for a spirit, seemed too much to bear.

Then one day she saw another spirit, zipping by at high speeds and carrying many passengers. “Hooray!” she cried, and followed his track. But he kept getting farther and farther away from her. Finally she broke down and cried.

“What am I doing wrong?” the spirit lamented.

A small spirit, as small as her, was passing by, and going in an entirely new direction…

--

--

Ilana Lydia
Be Open

A theater person/writer/reader of curiosities. A believer in wonder.