The Soothing Qualities of Rain

A little shower calms the soul

Shirley Jones Luke
Be Open
2 min readJul 3, 2021

--

Image by Gage Walker via Unsplash

It’s been raining for almost three days. My region of the country, the North East, just went through a blistering heatwave. I don’t mind the heat so much. It’s the humidity that’s a killer. My entire house becomes a sauna. I sweat everywhere and my deodorant loses its power.

Once the heatwave ended, the rain came in. At first, my city got intermittent showers. Depending on which part of the city you were in, you may not have gotten any rain at all. Some areas experienced downpours and minor flooding. My neighborhood experienced some sprinkles on the first day. The sun poked its head out from time to time amidst the clouds.

I like the rain. A sprinkle or a light shower washed away the dirt and grime from the heatwave. The pitter-patter against the window panes can be quite relaxing. The splash on the street caused by passing cars has a lullaby effect. The sidewalks glisten as drops fall from the overhanging trees.

Nature has been loving the rain. The heatwave made the soil dry and cracked. The trees and planted wilted under the heat. My back porch garden suffered. I often found myself watering my plants 3 or 4 times a day. It was never enough. My poor plants were parched from the oppressive heat.

I welcomed the rain. It made the city slow down. There are fewer people out on the sidewalks. There are fewer cars on the roads. A rainy day is a great chance to catch up on housework, read a book or take a nap. Rainy days take the stress away. You don’t feel pressed to get things done.

So, as the rain falls, I enjoy the quiet. Rain cancels out the noise of everyday living. It brings a warm feeling to my home. The lights are low. My home is cozy. Rain encourages people to chill out. The hustle and bustle are gone. People don’t have to worry about being late. No one wants to go out. The rain gives us permission to take a deep breath and relax.

--

--

Shirley Jones Luke
Be Open

Shirley is a poet and writer. Ms. Luke enjoys reading, fashion and travel. She is working on a manuscript of her poems and an essay collection.