We are Social Creatures

Learn a new word, or at least a synonym, every day.

JS O’Keefe
Be Open
2 min readSep 12, 2024

--

Artwork by Toni Verkruysse

“From now on every time you tell me something I’ll reply that you said the same thing yesterday.”

“That’s stupid.”

“That’s what you said yesterday.”

“We didn’t even meet yesterday. Frankly, I am not sure I know you.”

“Yesterday you said we hadn’t talked the day before. You also said you were not sure if we’d ever met.”

“Then let me say it again, this is stupid. This whole exercise is just a mind game, you’re trying to play with my head. It is stupid.”

“Please stop repeating yourself. You’ve already used the word stupid three times today and said stupid yesterday. The average adult in an English-speaking country knows a total of thirty thousand words and actively uses about twenty thousand in his daily life. Don’t tell me you only know one word for stupid. Just off the top of my head, brainless, dumb, ludicrous, dull, foolish, witless, inane, simpleminded, idiotic.”

“Those are synonyms.”

“That’s the word, synonym! I remember you mentioning synonyms yesterday. I’ve been searching my memory ever since. It’s an elegant expression, synonym, probably from Latin or Greek. Anyway, thanks for repeating it.”

“That’s it! I am never talking with you ever again.”

“That’s what you screamed at me yesterday, and here you are talking to me.”

“Enough! Listen, stupid, I’m going and from now on you are dead to me and I am dead to you, okay?”

“Big deal, both of us are dead. Coinkydink, they put us in the same morgue, next to each other. At least we can talk until run out of things to say.”

--

--

JS O’Keefe
Be Open

JS O’Keefe is a scientist and fiction writer (Every Day Fiction, WENSUM, 101 Words, Spillwords, 50WS, ScribesMICRO, Medium, Paragraph, 6S, Satire, MMM, etc).