What Did I Learn From COVID?

Not what you think!

Judy Haratz Cohen
Be Open

--

Image by Duckleap Free Resources from Pixabay

What did I learn from COVID?

  1. I discovered I was the owner of 29 plastic shopping backs that I could use at the supermarket, who now decided to charge me for paper bags.
  2. I learned I could spend endless hours at home in the company of my husband and my dog. and we all survived each other.
  3. Most telling, and depressing I learned I was old. I know this sounds ridiculous, but it was true. Every day the headlines and television reminded me, that I was a senior. The proof was that my immunity system might not be strong enough to resist COVID. If I did get sick I had a better chance of dying than a younger person.

You might wonder, didn’t I know I was old, the numbers don’t lie. These are the things I told myself and still do. I have always worn the same clothing size, pants, dresses, and shoes. I have colored my hair for a million years. The wrinkles, the sags, I taught my mirror to lie to me. I was taking more pills, just to placate my doctors. Nothing new there either.

It was distressing that my adult children called more often, checking on our health. It was sweet, but suspect too. Now they were admitting we were old, as well. My husband is 5 1/2 years older than I am. He was REALLY old.

--

--

Judy Haratz Cohen
Be Open

I am a retired teacher and mentor. I am a proud Grammy, and sound like one. I feel like a stranger in a strange new world