What do we teach when we are not teaching?

Dr. Hiten Solanki
Be Open
Published in
4 min readNov 18, 2023

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Teaching is a noble profession, I heard somewhere. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea. All are not teachers, but all teach in one way or another. Children learn through experience; whatever they experience becomes their behavior. In this writing piece, I will discuss what we (not teachers only) teach when we are actually not teaching.

We constantly take pleasure in teaching something to someone in some personalized way; this process may take place at an unconscious level, which means we probably don’t know we are teaching when we do. In a way, teaching is an internalized personality aspect. Teaching gives immense pleasure to one, as it satisfies one’s ego to a certain extent. Now, you can observe that I am also trying to teach while writing this piece.😎

Well, by profession, I am a teacher and I cannot escape from my fate. I learned to teach during my training days; now, I teach to learn.

‘I made mistakes in my life; I don’t want you to repeat them’ — is a common dialogue that is popularly used across generations. I am sure you must have heard the same words at some point in your life. I admit that I have heard them as well as used such words. Everyone learns something from their mistakes, and they profess people around them to learn from their mistakes.

Love and marriage are such experiences, I…

--

--

Dr. Hiten Solanki
Be Open

Inclined to research and writing, I have pursued my doctoral research in Asian Literature. I have one book to my credit and aspire to deliver more.