What Ned Flanders Taught Me About the Comparison Trap

Who cares if you’re not the Queen/King of Adulting

Bridie Dillon
Be Open

--

Image from the Simposons via CBR

I have this spectacular friend, I love her like family. The problem is after spending time together, I do nothing but compare our lives.

I ruminate on our differences, recycling thoughts of how she’s a better mother, has a loving husband, a flexible fulfilling career, a beautiful home with gorgeous pets, and is a great asset to her community.

These are all wonderful, they truly are, and I am so grateful the world has her in it. 🗺 💕

Trust me, I know I need to quit being so petty and just love her and me. I know this is all on me, I do, but saying and doing are worlds apart.

Here’s what I’m experimenting with to ward off the pesky comparison trap.

When you’re Homer in the scenario

Being a ridiculous woman who is not entirely used to dishing accolades, I see only my faults. How I’m unmarried, petless uncomfortable at work, and not always mentally stable.

Where does good old Neddy come into this?

Easy.

I’m Homer.

My efforts never turn out as well. My parenting is far from perfect (though I’m only…

--

--

Bridie Dillon
Be Open

Mum to two 👩‍👧‍👧All I really do is read