Finding Happiness every day

Even when it seems impossible

Valentina Cecilia - Valentía Crónica
Reaching Hearts
2 min readJun 15, 2024

--

An epiphany in a complicated week

This week was hard; as a person with chronic illnesses that drain their energy every day, it was a complicated situation getting out of bed for minutes to an hour before having to lie down again because of how bad I felt.

In this scenario, finding something good in my day was very difficult. The monotony of the week, the aggravated symptoms, and the fact that I could not do anything were tiring and depressing.

Then something happened, an atmospheric river came to the country and started raining hard. It was like I was under a waterfall all day long. It was refreshing and calming, and I finally could think and do something different.

I meditate and connect with my spiritual side. That’s how a voice that I love told me that instead of focusing on how bad I felt in my body, embrace the good of the moment. Even if it lasts minutes, even if it lasts a second, that happy moment is worth it.

It was like an epiphany stroked me. I was too much centered on how I felt in my body at the moment and was incapable of seeing what was out of it.

Then I saw what was worth it of my week

That moment gave me the impulse to get up and get dressed, and I felt good about it.

That moment I had the mental clarity to do some activities like working on my writing and studying.

That moment when my dogs woke me up from my nap was the most beautiful and tender moment of the day.

All the moments my cat accompanied me as an excellent Carer.

The moments in the night when my mom sat beside my bed, and we talked about everything.

And, of course, that moment when it rained and all felt good again.

Corn leaf with striations on it, there are raindrops on top of it.
Photo by Jake Colling on Unsplash

You can find happiness every day even for a second

In all of those moments, I was happy, and the fact that I discovered it was meaningful to me.

I changed my behavior and decided to focus on the good, a decision that I needed to remake very often.

I practice gratitude, I practice loving, and understanding, but, thanks to last week, I now know that I need to work to perceive fully the happy moments.

Happiness is not a goal, it´s the sum of every happy moment in your life, the overall.

I invite you to truly perceive your happy moments, it is worth it.

I invite you to clap, comment, and subscribe, it will encourage me to continue writing.

I wrote for free so If you would like to support me, you can buy me a coffee!

--

--

Valentina Cecilia - Valentía Crónica
Reaching Hearts

Hello! I'm Vale, I write about my autistic life with chronic illnesses and disability, I also reflect on life itself. https://linktr.ee/valentiacronica