I Lost My Books

This is a regret for me.

Zunaira Mustafa
Reaching Hearts
4 min readJul 26, 2024

--

Photo by Ionela Mat on Unsplash

I have been fond of reading since the age of 16.

My financial circumstances were not too good, but I always bought books whenever I saved enough money.

As I have already told you in my story, I give tuition to the children; this is a huge way to save some money every month and buy one, two, or three books ( used second-hand books).

I never bought new books in my life because they were too expensive.

There is a shop in my city where old books are being sold.

I buy books from here.

I have a collection of almost 80 books in my small room in my small home.

There was no better place for my books, so I always kept my books on the tall window shelf of my room with an order.

I thought this was the only place where I could place my books.

This was a treasure for me, and whenever I bought a new book, I placed that book on the window shelf.

It was somehow like this. Picture from Pinterest.com

My home was too old, and I was unaware that my books were in danger.

Yesterday, I was looking at my old book, so I started finding my book.

But…

Guess what happened??

Only a few upper books were safe, but all the other books were half-eaten by termites.

I was shocked.

I started crying and started throwing books on the floor to see if any were safe or not.

But, I have lost my only treasure and savings.

All the books were badly damaged.

My mother came into my room after listening to the noise and asked me what happened.

After seeing that, my mother also felt sad for me because she was aware of how much effort I had put into this collection.

She was aware that I had been making this collection for 6 years and that I loved my books like my children.

I fell into bed crying and thought that I was not a good carer and protector.

After this loss, I thought that I should cover all the windows and my books with plastic covers or take ideas from YouTube, but it was too late.

I have not eaten anything the whole day because of stress and sorrow.

After this incident, when I was sleeping in my room, gazing at the old, slow fan of my room, I thought that

Why always do poor people only face loss in their lives?

Why can not rich people suffer any losses?

Why do poor people always lose their favorite things?

Why do rich people always get their favorite things?

Is life and this world not for poor people?

Is this world only for those people who have a lot of money and can buy what they want?

Is it our fault that we are born poor?

Is it because of their hard work that they were born rich?

God has created all of us, and why did God make some people rich and some people poor?

Well,

Many questions were running through my mind all night, and I couldn’t sleep the whole night.

In the morning, when I came for breakfast, my mother saw my eyes, and she understood that I had cried and had not slept at night.

After breakfast, she called me, gave me a warm hug, and said, “Didn’t you sleep the whole night?”

I started crying and told her all the questions running through my mind from the night.

She listened to me silently and said,

“Kid, my beautiful girl, you have taken care of your books according to you, but according to me, you have not taken care of your books as you should. Remember, daughter, when you don’t take care of your favorite and precious things properly, you lose them.”

She said:

“Remember my sayings in every field of life. One day you will get married, you will have a husband, and after some time, you will also have children. If you do not take care of any of them, they will also be broken, and you will lose them. You lose everything that you kept inside to see them later.”

“But I loved my books too much, Mom,” I said I was crying.

She took a long breath and went on, saying, "Yes, you loved, but you have not cared. There is a difference between care and love. When you don’t care, then there is no benefit of wordy love.”

I became silent.

I understand what she is saying.

I loved it but didn’t care.

I understand a very important thing after this:

Care is more important than love; when you care, you definitely love, but when you only love, you don't always care.

--

--