Inspiration Comes In Many Forms

What inspires us can make us better

--

Photo of a flower similar to a lotus, with white petals and a yellow center. In the background, you can see blurry rounded dark green leaves on water.
Photo by binh dang nam on Unsplash

I always felt inspired in the most unexpected ways, in everything and everyone, I believe that all of us have someone to inspire and to be inspired by.

Inspiration can be seen in everything and is often associated with new ideas and creativity (as said by Collins Dictionary), I often get inspired by things that put in motion my creativity, which I describe as fluid more than static, that is, the more I do, the more my creativity grows.

Despite the typical definition of “inspiration,” I believe that it can lead us to something more than a creative explosion. I prefer the definition put in the study “Being Inspired by Media Content: Psychological Processes Leading to Inspiration” by Chingching Chang. The study puts inspiration as something that a person apprehends that is beyond their normal perspective and motivates them to communicate or implement that newly apprehended, that is, the motivation itself.

Inspiration in everyday life

I get most of my inspiration from Nature and my daily life.

  • When I feel like I need to contemplate and clear my mind I usually take a little walk and sit and observe my surroundings.
  • I get really excited and inspired whenever I see white flowers and reptiles. Once I saw a little female lizard over a big white flower, and my inspiration went rampage and I wrote a whole paper in a couple of hours.
  • I have a cat and two lovely German Shepherd dogs, all three are very different and I love to observe their behavior or just look at them, they fill me with love and inspiration, it could not be otherwise.
  • I see my mom every day since we live together, and also, we love to spend quality time together. She had always been my inspiration.

People throw their actions (good or bad) often inspired me beyond the creative narrative to be a better version of myself.

  • Two of my professors in Veterinary School were always my fountain of inspiration as humans, one as a positive masculine figure and the other as a great inspiration for their ethics and professionalism. To this day, these people not only are an important part of my core, but also, they still inspire me, even if I don´t see them anymore.
  • A friendship through their words of encouragement inspires me to take action, especially when I feel low, and I doubt myself.
  • A person that I know has a way of living that is the antithesis of mine, and inspires me to be better and kinder to the world, just like they aren’t.

Books are a particularly good fountain of inspiration.

  • The Books of Marie Kondo of hers KonMarie Method, are something that I truly enjoy.
  • The novels of Mario Puzo especially “The Godfather” always inspire me, especially when the character of Vito Corleone says when he dies — how beautiful life is — looking at his tomato plantation.
  • The novels of Agatha Christie in which Hercule Poirot is the protagonist always lifted my spirit and inspired me in the most unusual ways.

I am a cinephile, so movies have a special place in my life. With every movie I see I get something special for my life, inspiring me in some way.

My hobbies and activities that I do every day, like studying Psychology online can be inspiring, and also enrich my life.

Inspiration online

Medium, of course, is a great online tool that has a great plus side, the feeling of community and the fact that I can read and interact with other writers. Their articles and personal histories inspired me a lot.

An excellent online tool for inspiration is Pinterest, I have a lot of folders, but my favorites are animals.

Many of you may get inspiration from YouTube, but I don´t usually get much from it. Except for the channel of Jessica Kellgren-Fozard, a great Disability, and Chronic illnesses advocate, also if you would like to learn more about queer history, Montessori parenting, or just see a lovely family of two moms and a toddler.

I use Google and Google Scholar as tools to get to things that inspire me. Like information or papers about the topics I like.

As you can read I get inspired by a large number of sources, here I left you the most common ones for me.

What inspires you in your daily life? I would love to read you.

I invite you to clap, comment, and subscribe, it will encourage me to continue writing.

I wrote for free, so If you would like to support me, you can buy me a coffee!

--

--

Valentina Cecilia - Valentía Crónica
Reaching Hearts

Hello! I'm Vale, I write about my autistic life with chronic illnesses and disability, I also reflect on life itself. https://linktr.ee/valentiacronica