Laugh Till You Have Real Teeth 🦷

Loud laughters and sunny smiles that’s all

Paras Ali
Reaching Hearts
3 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Photo by Yousef Salhamoud on Unsplash

Writing is often seen as a solitary job. You might have seen writers like Hemingway pouring his soul naked onto the typewriter, Keats madly longing for Fanny Brawne, Kafka transforming into an insect to escape the world’s severity, and Ezra Pound composing fragmented or oblique verses. This depiction of writers can paint them as perpetually melancholic. But is that truly the case? Do writers never laugh or joke?

Photo by Matthew LeJune on Unsplash

I believe writers are keen observers, often immersing themselves in the lives of others. They feel deeply, see intensely, and articulate their concerns vividly. This constant engagement with the world can sometimes overshadow their vibrant personalities. To be sensitive is at times a curse.

However, it’s not just writers who appear serious. Many people seem to have forgotten how to laugh. Whether stuck in traffic, where drivers are often frowning and exchanging irritable looks ,or in offices where exhausted faces greet you instead of smiles, and even in schools with teachers who seem more focused on their responsibilities than on connecting with students, there’s a pervasive lack of joy.

As we move through life, we often neglect the simple act of laughter. Our 16 teeth in the upper jaw and 16 in the lower jaw are meant not just for chewing unwanted experiences but also for smiling and laughing. Laughter releases endorphins, which help reduce stress. A relaxed body leads to better behavior and performance in real-life situations.

Like all the luxury and beauty, we have to leave behind our teeth 🦷 to this world before the final departure. So why not use them?

“ I have seen what a laugh can do. It can transform almost unbearable tears into something bearable, even hopeful.”

– Bob Hope

I experienced this firsthand myself. After failing a test(I mentioned in my last post), I struggled with insomnia and ego issues for a week. But then, I watched “Mr. Bean” and “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,” Laughing so hard I fell off the couch 🤪. This laughter provided much-needed relief, leading to a good night’s sleep.

(Image courtesy: WikiHeroes)

Consequently, I performed excellent in my today’s exam, earning a bravo and a hug from my mentor. The difference was laughter – it helped me relax and approach the exam centre with calm and confidence. I bagged home the passed certificate with just 2 extra classes but a humongous positive attitude .

When was the last time you laughed for real?

Do you smile reading Medians Comments?

Thank you so much Reaching Hearts ♥️ for Sharing my work .

--

--