Redefining Kindness

Do you see yourself as a kind person?

Valentina Cecilia - Valentía Crónica
Reaching Hearts
2 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Photo of a wooden sign on a light post, the sign has a white painted background and in black letters it reads “Be Kind” next to a red heart.
Photo by Adam Nemeroff on Unsplash

I ask — Am I a kind person? Do I have that quality? — it’s something difficult to grasp this quality in myself as I am invaded by all the versions of myself that were harsh or hateful in the past.

I am only 33 years old, but I have lived through a lot of changes in myself since introspection, self-consciousness, and self-improvement are personal qualities.

So, for an exercise of identifying my qualities and abilities beyond my physical disability, I came to wonder if I am a kind person today.

As I am overall a logical person I question myself, What is to be kind? according to the Cambridge and Collins dictionary, Kindness is the quality in a person to be “gentle, caring, and helpful”, I must admit that I think that this definition came short.

I think Kindness is not only reserved for humans, is also something you can see in other beings, I think the definition implies being kind between humans, but the lives we live are inserted in the world, we are not the only beings on Earth, and are so much kindness in the everyday life.

So, you can see kindness in a hug and a smile that changes the day of the recipient; kindness in a helping hand.

But also, in the caring of an elephant helping a lion´s cub to cross a scorching road with its mother; in wolves and crows working together synergically for resources; in dogs protecting a child.

Photo of a lion´s cub looking at the camera with their head tilted to the left.
Photo by Maëlia Faust on Unsplash

The world is full of kindness, so I would like to redefine it, as a quality, yes, but is something that all beings can have, and is something that is not only self-less but also, serves a greater good, the survival of the species.

I wish I am more kind every day, not only for myself but for the Earth.

Are you kind? What would be your definition of kindness?

I invite you to clap, comment, and subscribe, it will encourage me to continue writing.

I wrote for free, so If you would like to support me, you can buy me a coffee!

--

--

Valentina Cecilia - Valentía Crónica
Reaching Hearts

Hello! I'm Vale, I write about my autistic life with chronic illnesses and disability, I also reflect on life itself. https://linktr.ee/valentiacronica