The Magic of Crying

Benefits of letting your body do their thing

--

Photo of a young man crying, dressed in a green parka and black pants, he is sitting on a log. Located on a natural patch of grass, in the background you can see a meadow with trees and dry plants similar to cut wheat.
Photo by Francisco Gonzalez on Unsplash

I am one of those persons who can and will cry with a commercial, I am an emotional being, and I don´t think it is a bad thing, and here is why.

We cry for different motives

We can cry from frustration, sadness, rage, melancholy, or through other emotions, when we shed tears we realize the stress we are holding up, that tears are rich in high-stress hormones, so every tear is really and truly a cleansing experience.

One time I was emotionally constipated. I could not cry, I could not express my emotions, I am autistic, so at that time, I was overwhelmed and on the verge of burnout, nothing was working for me, not a movie, not writing, not meditating of even Reiki, I do it all, and nothing opened my poor heart, that is, until my cat landed on my heart to purr, accompanying me.

Their company and purr were the key for me to start to cry, and when I ended, I felt incredibly lighter and no longer constipated.

Beyond the emotions

As persons, we also cry for motives beyond emotional motives (Source).

Do you ever cry early in the morning or when you wake up? That is because of the “Basal tears” which are a kind of tear that helps moisten the eyes and are rich in proteins and antibacterial liquid.

Do you cry when is windy, with the smoke of a barbecue, or when you are in the kitchen, like chopping onions? That is for the “Reflex tears” that there are to protect our eyes from irritants.

Cleansing experience

Photo of a close-up of a woman’s face shows one of the eyes and brows, their eye and hair are brown, and splattered on the face is silver-colored glitter.
Photo by Alia Wilhelm on Unsplash

Beyond the type of tears that we have in our body and the fact that every tear has a motive (as you can see above), I think that crying is the best thing we can do, if we have tears in the corner of the eye just letting them go!

If you haven’t cried, your eyes can’t be beautiful — Sophia Loren

I agree with Sophia Loren when we let ourselves be true humans. We are not robots or machines, we are living beings with a lot in our lives, and is common that we forget that in the globalized world.

When we cry and connect with ourselves some magic happens, we heal, we feel lighter, we feel compelled to be with someone else, we look for a companion, or the companion comes to us, like my little story with my cat, Do you ever feel that someone need your company out of the blue? I am a firm believer that that is your institution wanting to help someone and maybe accompany them to cry.

We, as a species, are social beings, but as an introverted person myself, I know that not all people want company. Maybe you prefer to cry alone, and that is OK. The important thing is to give yourself permission to be.

And also, permit yourself to help others just because. We all need support and not all of us are good looking for help.

Being human can be something beautiful if we let it be that way.

I invite you to clap, comment, and subscribe, it will encourage me to continue writing.

I wrote for free, so If you would like to support me, you can buy me a coffee!

--

--

Valentina Cecilia - Valentía Crónica
Reaching Hearts

Hello! I'm Vale, I write about my autistic life with chronic illnesses and disability, I also reflect on life itself. https://linktr.ee/valentiacronica