The More We Look, the Less We See

Nivia Nuria
Reaching Hearts
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2024
I love this picture and I don't know why🤭

I was going back home today and I had an experience, so why reflecting upon it and then things that are usually not my business, it took me from one thought to another until I got here.

I remembered that moment when I desperately wanted to share an experience I still love.

It was kind of insignificant but it made sense to me and like that day I’ll love to share.

This happened on the 5th of May, 2024 in the afternoon (I can’t give the exact time).

I had written it down.

Note: This is my writing from that day. I didn’t want to rewrite it. I just felt I might omit or rather include things I never felt or thought of. Therefore I had copied it exactly as I had written it.

So here it is:

I had just gotten off from a call, a class to be precise and the teaching today was bent on pricking every part of my conscience. So I have decided to be intentional with me.

Today I had an experience and it made me really want to share. So here goes my story:

At home, at the passage, we have a really long table, which we mostly use for ironing. Our kitchen is at the corner of the passage (pardon my description, but I hope you understand). So whenever we leave the kitchen, we tend to be extremely careful to avoid bumping into the table.

I had returned home yesterday after four months. So today I went to the kitchen this afternoon to take my food and I subconsciously shifted to avoid the table, but when I looked I realized the table was not even there.

It made me realize I had actually seen that the table was not there yesterday but I didn’t realize it wasn’t there.

I kept thinking, I have passed here like a million times yesterday and this morning, but why didn’t I notice the table wasn’t there?

It made me laugh, and it made me realize how powerful things we hold on to affect us.

It made me realize having eyes does not mean we can see.

You can look but can't see, you can see but you will not realize, you may realize but you can't grasp.

Those beliefs, those ideologies, those make beliefs, that fantasy that even when you realize they are wrong, you still hold onto.

What do you do?

Do you keep holding on to it? Or do you let go?

I hope this makes you think and reflect upon what you unintentionally leave in your subconscious mind that affects you.

And that ends my story.

And I added my thoughts from here.

Though they may be as insignificant as the table. They may sometimes make smooth sailing in day-to-day activities harder than usual, no matter how little the bumps may be. I know life is difficult, but should we add to it?

Jaa Ne.

--

--