What Lies Beneath the Outer Appearance

Day 3 of the 15-Day Writing Challenge

Nakia Allen
Reaching Hearts

--

Author AI-generated Image in DALL-E and Canva

The time has come to tackle question three of the 15-day writing challenge! This one is definitely easier to answer than the last one. Perhaps that is because I know exactly who I am and what I am not.

Author Created Image in Canva

The simple answer is NO. You cannot judge a book by its cover. I’m so confident my outer appearance does not scratch the surface of what lies beneath that I’d be willing to wager on it. Depending on the environment, my outward appearance changes, which I assume is the same for practically everyone.

How I lounge when home alone is different from how I show up for work, spend time in the park with my son, and attend festive events like weddings. The core (e.g., values, ideologies) doesn’t change. However, I’m multifaceted. Just as every outfit doesn’t fit all venues, all parts of me aren’t expressed indiscriminately to all audiences.

To complicate things further, we continue to evolve through life based on experiences. Parts of me have been eliminated, others have become more dominant, and new parts have developed. Since the birth of my son, I have become significantly more…

--

--

Nakia Allen
Reaching Hearts

I am a mother, life-long learner, physician, and creative soul researching various topics to enrich my time on Earth and personal knowledge base.