What Makes an Apology Genuine?

This is the sixth question in this fifteen-day challenge.

Nivia Nuria
Reaching Hearts
1 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Question six: What makes an apology feel genuine to you?

Hmmmm….

I believe in actions, not words.

People can say anything; for them, it is just talk, but their actions afterward tell whether they mean it or not.

For me you don’t apologize with just words, you apologize with your actions too.

Coming to me with your perfect AI-written apology would do nothing.

I would listen with my poker face and I would make sure you realize your words mean nothing to me until it is been backed up with the appropriate actions.

Emphasis on appropriate.

Most people come with their pretense, with gifts and empty promises.

Don’t just talk the talk; act on it!!!

If you know you are not ready to change, don’t come to me with your empty words; you would annoy me the more.

So, to answer this question, an apology with actions feels genuine to me.

--

--