Enjoying the journey

BE School
BE School
Published in
2 min readNov 3, 2017
A photo representing a journey ;)

I spend a lot of time travelling back and forth between Mexico, where my company is based, and the UK, where my extended family live.

My daughter is still young, full of energy and intrigue about the world. And as I can work remotely, I made a conscious decision to let my parents spend time with her in the UK so they don’t miss out on all these beautiful moments!

My and my daughter travelling through Heathrow airport

My parents appreciate spending time with her, but worry that “I must get sick of travelling back and forth”. But it’s quite the opposite! I absolutely love it. My daughter has been on 28 flights with me and she is not yet 4 years old. I love travelling with her, she’s adorable when she gets her “serious face” on going through security. We also have extended time to talk about the world and observe people together. These are precious moments. I think I’d actually enjoy living in an airport — just like Tom Hanks in The Terminal!

There are some other reasons I love to travel too.

I switch off

I enjoy not being contactable. For the 24 hours I am in transit, there are no expectations about replying to emails!

I think

The waiting time at the gate or between in-flight movies gives me time to think. I plan my next steps as a CEO and think about how I can add more value to my clients and team.

I create

I get creative when I am in the clouds. I’m an advocate of visualization and I can see so much more being 36,000 feet in the air.

I write

I write blog posts, which seem easier to do when there’s not much else I can do. I also journal with the luxury of being fully present with my thoughts — as long as my daughter is napping!

There are a lot of cliches about “enjoying the journey”, but I really do!

Thanks for reading.

Zoe
CEO of BE School, Mexico City

--

--

BE School
BE School

We are a specialized Business English School in Mexico City. Designed by Professionals, for Professionals who conduct business in English every day.