Trains Planes Automobiles | Productivity in Transit

Zoe Smith
BE School
Published in
6 min readDec 5, 2017

I spend most of my day traveling or moving from one space to another in Mexico City. Catch a bus, hail an Uber, squeeze on the Metro or run as quickly as my legs can carry me to the next meeting or event. There are some days that I seemingly use every mode of travel available to humanity; I’ve even considered wrangling a donkey once when completely stuck in the middle of nowhere (a story for another time).

And so. It behooves me to use all that travelling time in the most productive manner possible. Otherwise, absolutely nothing would progress in my life or business; certainly little self-growth. Here is how I use my unproductive time productively.

Uber & Taxi Journeys

Generally, these journeys do not last very long; at most, half an hour. In that time, if I’m hands free without my little munchkin daughter, I quickly catch up on emails and WhatsApp messages (primarily used with my team). For the first 5–8 minutes, I review my emails and organise them based on importance (not urgency). It’s taken me some time to understand the difference between ‘urgent’ and ‘important’ and I very consciously review my messages, tagging them appropriately. As there is rarely a shortage of emails, I find this process is akin to sharpening my blade thrice to chop down the tree in one swoop.

Once I’ve organised my emails based on importance of response, I give myself a limit of how many I’d like to whoosh through (sometimes 5 and other times 10 depending on how involved the responses will be). Once I’ve reached my goal, I turn my attention to WhatsApp for the remainder of the journey; this could be 15 minutes or 5 minutes, but these responses take far less time. Much like with emails, I spend a few moments reviewing the messages to find the most important and respond to these as first priority.

Automobiles & Metro

Rarely do I find myself driving in Mexico City- that’s just a mess I’d rather avoid. However, when I’m in the UK or Canada, I often have access to a car and feel comfortable driving. As use of phones are strictly prohibited, of course, I use my driving journeys to listen and learn; again, this is assuming I’m not listening to the latest kid-crazed themed music with Roma.

Regardless of the length of my journey, I turn my car in to a mobile University. I have a list of podcasts, audios and listening material (from John C. Maxwell to Andy Frisella) that challenge me to think unconventionally; I can feel my synapses firing and my subconscious mind tingling. It’s a good feeling. The only difficult is when I hear something truly earth-shattering and cannot take notes. In this case, as I often have my bluetooth enabled headset on, I simply ask Siri to open notes and dictate a quick note to remind myself. When I have my next available moment with pen and my notebook, I write down what I learned and reflect on how to incorporate the idea/concept or action in to my life.

Interestingly, I often use my time on the Metro in the same manner (although, I don’t ride the Metro normally). As I’m often standing, wedged between a herd of people on the busy Metro, it often makes sense for me to take that anxiety ridden journey, tune out the nonsense and tune in the wisdom. Also, it’s a bit easier to type notes as I’m listening and gives me something to do with my hands other than shoving people out of my personal space.

Planes & Trains

My favourite for extended periods of peaceful, productive activity. In fact (and again this is assuming that my little one isn’t a cause for concern), I regularly plan my ‘Getting Things Done’ activities the evening before or morning of my journey on either a plan or a train. It’s wonderful. I revel in the hours I have at my disposal, sitting and getting things sorted! Need a bit of time to review payroll? Train time! Have curriculum changes to organise and implement? Plane time! Reviewing some CVs and corresonding with various clients’ HR departments? Train time! Hey, remember that book you look at longingly and sometimes stroke with affection (one day my love, one day…)? PLANE TIME!

Oh yes. That’s right. Time on trains and planes are my moments of serious productivity. True, it’s not like I fly every week or even every month. True, I have only a few train journeys a month. But when I do … boy oh boy. If you’ve read my previous articles, you know that I carry with me a notebook in which I write a list of all the activities/things that require my attention (and in no particular order, it’s genuinely a brain dump); for me, this list of things to do works. When planning my time on a train or plane, this list and a highlighter come out. I know the length of my journey and carefully find the most important tasks that I can complete in this time. Also, many of my activities are completed before I even board the plane- it’s extraordinary how much time there is just waiting. Once on the plane, I have some snacks and a delicious drink (usually a lemon water or juice) to keep me going. If I’m working on a task or activity that doesn’t require much brain engagement, I often tune in to a podcast- double whammy! Boom.

One aspect that helps me to become even more productive during these adventures is that (other than sometimes listening to a podcast), I do not multi-task; read The One Thing by Gary W. Keller and Jay Papasan or this short article to understand why. As such, I focus entirely on one achievable task at a time and give it my 100% focus. I don’t flip flop. I don’t start checking my emails whilst writing an article. I don’t engage with my Facebook or WhatsApp when I’m reviewing payroll (and that takes the will of the Gods, seriously). I will, however, take a few moments break to stretch and even stare out the window to calm my mind.

Ultimately, I have to use my time very consciously and carefully; flexibility and using unproductive time productively is key. Otherwise, time slips away like sand seeping through a clenched fist.

--

--

Zoe Smith
BE School

CEO of BE School, currently living in Mexico City