10 Frequent Questions Flight Attendants Get Asked

Cristian Rusu
Be Unique
Published in
6 min readSep 23, 2020
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Flight attendants are usually the first you meet when you enter an aircraft. They welcome you onboard and are there to make sure you make it to your new destination safe and sound.

Some hold the stereotype that their job is to just serve you, when in fact the job entails many roles — safety, security, customer service and sales, fire fighting, or medical care.

Flight attendants are trained to handle different conflict situations that might arise on board. Even though they are there for your comfort, most of all it is your safety they are trained for.

I had the chance to work as a flight attendant for a low-cost company during my time there I had the chance to witness lots of funny scenarios. Questions that seemed silly but were asked in all seriousness.

Let's take off! (pun intended)

1. Can I Change My Seat?

Often passengers will see an empty emergency row seat and ask the flight attendant if it’s possible to change the seat since it’s empty. Those are premium seats and have more legroom, the change can happen only if the passenger agrees to pay for the upgrade.

Some understand this, whereas others try to argue that the seat is empty either way so why can’t they just seat there? It will be a secret between both of you they say. Except it won’t for other passengers seated around perfectly heard the discussion you were having.

There were times when I had to persuade passengers of the policies on board. When confronted they give you the kind of reasons mentioned above. To not escalate the situation one needs to apply two important skills: Listen and Understand.

Usually, people tend to understand your position after you state the company policy and they either pay for the upgrade or go back to their original seat.

2. Can You Help Me With The Bag?

I am a guy and if I come to see an older lady pushing a trolley bag of course I will not hesitate to help her and lift the bag for her.

But there are cases when fully capable passengers feel entitled and just point to the bag as if it’s part of my job to lift their bags (it’s not).

In cases like that, I either ask a passenger to give them a hand or just explain that I can’t do that.

I understand customer satisfaction is above all, but so is my health.

Let's not forget flight attendants are not there to lift your bags.

Their priority is the safety of everyone boarding the plane.

3. Where Are We Flying Over Right Now?

Giphy

Sometimes as I pass through the cabin there is one passenger that asks me this question — Where are we flying over right now?

My response is usually a smile followed by me telling them that I have no idea.

The picture above sums up my reaction.

I honestly have no clue what country we are flying over right now. The captain flying surely does but I will not disrupt the flight crew just to ask them that.

4. How Much???

Since you are flying a low-cost airline the onboard products come with a price. Coffee, water, juice, snacks — all of that costs.

Some passengers expect when they see the trolley filled with goodies that all of them are free of charge and we are just giving them away. I wish we were.

The prices usually are on the higher end and when a person asks for a coffee and you tell them the price they open their eyes wide and ask again:

— How… how much???

You repeat the answer and they sneer at first and make a remark about the prices (the usual) but eventually make the order and hand their credit card.

5. What Is Free?

On a low-cost carrier, nothing comes free, except for a glass of tap water that I can offer.

Some will take me up on the offer and ask for that glass of water, others will resign themselves to the fact that nothing is for free.

Not much I can do about that.

6. Are The Pilots Local?

There was this one time I was standing in the middle of the cabin and a man took his seat at the emergency exit. I briefed him on his emergency seat location. The boarding was slow so we managed to have a little chat. At one moment my colleague in the back started making an announcement greeting the passengers.

This man asked in a curious tone if the pilot was local, and mentioned the pilot's pleasant voice.

I smiled and told him that it was my colleague from the back and that although there are a small number of local pilots, most of them are international.

7. Why Is Your Seatbelt Different From Ours?

Passengers wonder that and in all fairness, it’s a logical question to ask.

Passenger seatbelts are two-point and fastened in their lap, whereas a flight attendant’s seat has the 4 point seatbelt harness which fixes their upper body as well in the seat.

Again this is done for safety. In an emergency situation, it’s crucial that flight attendants are safe and able to recover and proceed with the emergency evacuation procedures of the aircraft.

8. Do You Have A SIM Eject Tool?

Passengers that travel and change their SIM cards on their phones ask this one a lot.

Do I have a needle? I do not since that is a safety hazard and no sharp objects are allowed on the plane.

If it’s a woman asking me I usually recommend them to try and use their earring. When I offer that solution it’s like a light bulb goes in their head and they are thankful for the suggestion.

It’s the small things after all.

9. Where Is The Toilet?

Now if there are passengers that travel for the first time it’s an understandable question to ask.

When I am in the back galley and preparing the trolleys for service a passenger will approach and go towards the exit door and look at it carefully and then give me a quizzical look.

Then it’s clear to me they are looking for the toilet and I point them to the door and show them how to close it since nobody wants to open the door when one is most exposed.

They thank me and I tell them it’s no problem whatsoever.

10. How Do I Flush?

It’s an uncomfortable question to ask but much needed.

Know that if you are not sure of something, just go for it and ask we are there to help you after all.

If it’s your first time on a plane it’s even more common for you to ask this one.

Hygiene and cleanliness on a plane are important and when a passenger shyly approaches me and asks — How do I flush?

I just point them towards the blue flush button.

It’s easy to use and gets the job done.

Final Thoughts

These were just some of the frequent questions I had the chance of being asked by passengers. I hope the answers given help you understand more about a flight attendant’s job and maybe offer you some insights on how all of that works out.

Remember there is no shame in asking, flight attendants are there to look after your safety and comfort after all.

Safe flights!

Do you have any burning questions you would like to ask? Feel free to ask them and I will make sure to respond!

--

--