3 Asian Stereotype Parenting Practices That I’m Not Following

From crying, hitting to comparing… just don’t.

Katharine Chan
Be Unique
Published in
5 min readDec 13, 2020

--

Photo by Guillaume de Germain on Unsplash

Asian parent stories bring a bittersweet memory to me.

When I read or hear about Asian stereotypes, I get this burning urge to talk about them. It’s like this weird gut feeling that just makes me want to stir shit up.

I’ve always been one of those kids who takes pleasure in defying stereotypes. I hate being put in a box.

Don’t assume I’m submissive because of some show you saw about Asian women.

Don’t assume I’m a whitewashed banana because your Asian friend is.

Don’t assume I don’t know English because every time you see an Asian person, they’re talking, “Ching Chong”.

When I became a mom, I started doing a ton of self-reflection (one of the reasons I started a blog in the first place) because I struggled with what I wanted to preserve as an Asian parent and what I thought needed to go.

Becoming a parent allows you to re-live your life but this time you get to help shape the journey. You’re not in control of it.

And so I spend a lot of time ruminating on hypothetical situations that could happen for my kids and what my…

--

--

Katharine Chan
Be Unique

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books