BE UNIQUE | A POEM

A Future, in Time

Virginia Roces
Be Unique
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2020

--

Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

A different world,
To be lived differently—
Where I’ll feel Time’s grasp,
More like open hands
Against my heart;
Against the temples of my head;
Soft, soothing,
Strange;
But enriching, embracing, like
The afternoon glow
of the sun.

My dear friend and lover
Who will tend and care for me
Within storms,
In humid weather.
Whether to be long gone
From our ties,
I will continue to listen
To his gentle words
And he’ll sing me to sleep.
The august figure I had feared
During the quicksands of Summer.

Time will be the first
To carry me up softly
Toward the passing clouds…
And I’ll find my breath
In the rain;
Lay listlessly on a bed that
I can owe to Time’s love.
His presence forewarned;
His memory remembered:
He and I will one day be friends.

--

--

Virginia Roces
Be Unique

An aspiring “whole” human being. Constantly struggling with myself and local traffic.