Personal Reflection

A Month of Writing

The impacts of writing for a college-kid

Amelia Prochnow
Be Unique

--

Well, I have officially completed my first month of writing on Medium so I have decided to hop on the bandwagon and write a story about my experience and success thus far — except my statistics this month aren’t really that much to celebrate.

A screenshot of my stats for this month

As the days have progressed, I have learned to love writing and to write for myself, not others.

I see so many others’ posts that indicate that they have earned over $1000 just in their first month of writing alone. I find this statistic to be very incredulous and an impossible goal for someone like me to reach. I found that once I started writing for myself, I really started my writing journey.

You don’t actually receive more views based on what you write about. It’s about how well you write about those things.

I am so accustomed to writing in a certain way, from AP English Composition, that sometimes writing feels like a chore. Writing should never be a chore, but rather it should bring compassion. If you ever feel down in the dumps, taking a break from writing won’t be the end of the world as we all know it.

Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Let’s take a look at my statistics for the month of June:

My most viewed story for that month was a 2 minute read about myself that I published into ILLUMINATION as one of my first pieces. It got 221 views in total (and still counting) with an average reading time of 42 seconds.

Total earnings: $.38

My least viewed story was a 3 minute read about traveling amid the virus published into ILLUMINATION as a filler piece. It got 7 views with an average reading time of 1 minute and 12 seconds.

Total earnings: $.06

I think these statistics go to show you that there is no real monetary standard to Medium, but instead, you should work for yourself and find a happy medium and write about things you actually want to write about.

Overall, my first month on Medium was a success like no other. I found that even though I earned a grand total of $1.31, that won’t stop me from pursuing my dreams of writing to help others and take out challenges along my path. I know that I still have a lot of learning and writing to do to reach my goals, but I believe with determination and pursuance I can reach a better standard for myself.

It is my hope that next month will bring greater challenges and I can hopefully advance even farther within the publications Medium has to offer. I hope to hear from some of you on what your greatest challenges have been and how you overcame them.

--

--

Amelia Prochnow
Be Unique

A college student looking to impact the world and your reading lists.