Advice from Five Social Media Managers in the Sports Industry

Hear from professionals from the NFL and MLB.

Anna Martinez
Be Unique

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

A couple of years ago I had to do a research paper for my American Mass Media and Pop Culture class in college. I decided to do mine on how social media marketing is impacting the professional sports world. I reached out to social media managers from various teams and five of them were nice enough to respond.

It was great to hear their insights on the topic and so I thought others might be interested in what they had to say. Keep in mind that these interviews were done in 2018 and things might be slightly different now. This also does not account for any changes that have been made due to the current pandemic.

I was able to speak to people from two NFL teams and three MLB teams. The teams include the Jacksonville Jaguars, Baltimore Ravens, San Francisco Giants, Oakland A’s, and Seattle Mariners. I asked a total of five questions:

What social media platforms does your team focus on?

Every single team said they focused on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. Additionally, Snapchat, YouTube, Pinterest, and Reddit were also mentioned. I’m sure if I asked today, TikTok would be added to the list as I know teams have started to utilize the…

--

--