Breathing is Hard

A Prose Poem

Anurika John
Be Unique
2 min readAug 4, 2020

--

This was the wish,

He didn’t heed the wish,

His mind full of hate,

He claimed they resisted,

But the chains in a tight corner,

How can one move?

Held so tight under a booth,

Plead was the ultimate,

I can’t breathe they said,

Let us breathe.

They wanted the air,

The one given free to all,

But that was taken from them.

Let us breathe,

Not the one made by living

It’s our free gift and right.

Get in, he commanded

How can we, they asked?

Our hands and bodies are tied

We can’t breathe their last.

Chagrin was all round him,

He couldn’t bear the shame of his enemy,

Oh! What a killer!

Lemme breathe the fresh air of life,

May twenty fifth I can’t breathe,

Two thousand and twenty I can’t see,

Plan was in mind before,

Is this race or callous?

I can’t breathe the echo.

Help couldn’t be reached,

Streaming is all they have now,

Body, stiff as rock.

I can’t breathe May,

Covid is comprehensible,

But yet, they were snuffed.

I can’t breathe the words,

I can’t walk the expression,

I can’t move they said,

Finally, the air was forcefully taken.

Check their pulse began the aid,

They are not moving, he heard

It was late to do so.

Justice everywhere,

But they were already gone.

If wishes were gold

Then spirit would have fought,

If wishes were diamond,

Then I would steal the last to achieve the mission.

If wishes were the costliest thing,

I will spend the drop to give them air.

I can’t breathe the trend,

I can’t breathe haunting,

I can’t breathe justice,

Oh! Oh! I can’t breathe tears drops….

--

--