BE UNIQUE | A POEM

Closet

Jui Chawan
Be Unique
Published in
1 min readJun 14, 2020

--

Photo by Valentin Salja on Unsplash

I did it again
I eat and eat till I fill my abdomen
the initial pleasure disappears
I feel guilty

My neck hurts
I feel my stomach protruding through my body
I panic I feel… I don’t know how I feel…
Tears yes tears, spicy/bitter…rough!
I gobble up my incoherent excuses
I hide the food wrapping to save my shame
But does it really disappear?

Its skeletons crawl on my mind
My back hurts even my head
My demons come back
I see them closing the curtains, they climb on my bed wanting to ravish me
I wish to push them, but…

…my legs, my hands, my self-paralyzed

They get me
Savages, with their mouth-watering
…it drips on my lung

After, I lay still, my muscles break, staring at a crushed glass
The food wrapping still hidden…
My stomach protruding…
Me…me…m…

- Jui Chawan

--

--

Jui Chawan
Be Unique

Amateur poet, avid traveler, a voice against gender inequality, bibliophile in the making and owl lover!