A how-to

Combatting Writer’s Block

Some tips to help escape the dreaded writer’s block

Amelia Prochnow
Be Unique

--

You can probably already guess by reading the title of this article that I am experiencing a bit of a writer’s block with my Medium career. And that’s ok. It is a natural occurrence for you to feel stuck during any career or creative process.

I’m combatting writer’s block by writing about writer’s block.

It is disheartening to want to write but not have any inkling of what to write about or feel uninspired by what you put out. I’ve felt this way for a couple of weeks now, but I don’t let writer’s block become a habit — I combat it. I have laid out a few tips and tricks to combat this problem in this article, as well as, a question and answer section with a renowned writer.

My Tips and Tricks

Don’t write super long works just to get reads. Write shorter quality pieces instead of writing six to seven-minute reads filled with fluff. Even though your article may be a seven-minute read, that doesn’t mean the average reader is going to read the whole thing. Most people just skim anyway so save yourself some time.

You don’t have to write consistently to gain an audience. Take my works for example. I don’t post every single day, nor do I rely on getting works drafted every week. I just write when I feel inspired and when I have something to write about that will look good on my profile. I have been on Medium for about a month now and following isn’t super great but I consistently improve from where I was two weeks ago, and that means everything.

Quality over quantity!

Photo by S.Ratanak on Unsplash

Have spaces where you feel inspired and can focus. Everyone is pretty much still stuck in the house, bored. However, you can make any space in your home feel like a Starbucks cafe if you set the mood just right. Set a certain amount of time aside where you can write out your thoughts and really focus every day. I always feel inspired by a cup of coffee in hand, so I usually write after I’ve had a few cups. The words usually just start flowing when I have the right headspace.

Create an outline if you are really stuck. This outline can be digital, in your brain, or on paper, but I found this helps especially when writing school papers and you have to stick to certain conformity. So, why should we not create an outline to help creative writers too?

Questions and Answers

I had a quick virtual chat with a writer who has multiple published works for sale on Amazon right now and his way of combatting the dreaded writer’s block. He isn’t part of the Medium curation process, instead, he works with larger publications such as SERVO.

Q: What do you do when you have writer’s block? Do you ever get writer’s block because you’ve published over 45 works across multiple publications?

A: “I have never experienced writer’s block because I never allow my brain or writing to get to that point. I am always writing and rewriting in my head to prevent the stress of a mental block.”

Q: How do you maintain a good writing habit if you never have writer’s block? How do you consistently think of ideas of what to write about?

A: “Reading, listening, and thinking and thinking and thinking and thinking. Writing comes naturally to me, that is why I took up a professional career and degree with the creative arts. I have always been better at putting my thoughts on paper.”

Q: Is there something or someone that inspires you to think all of the time?

A: “Not really… I can’t just enforce myself to not think. My career relies heavily on thinking and creating ideas from nothing in the middle of the night.”

Q: Finally, do you have a consistent schedule when you sit down to write?

A: “I don’t start writing until I’ve thought out the concept AND the opening sentence. Then, I start writing whatever it is and don’t stop until I am completely done and finish in record timing. Because I’m always thinking.”

There you have it, folks! A professional writer doesn’t have a consistent way he does things, and neither should you. You don’t have to be perfect to be a good writer, you just have to think and think some more before putting your fingers to the keyboard or your pen to the paper.

Never stop thinking; never stop writing.

--

--

Amelia Prochnow
Be Unique

A college student looking to impact the world and your reading lists.