Cut the crap

Stop asking me what I did during the pandemic

Sophie Jones
Be Unique
5 min readJan 30, 2021

--

Photo by Zhang Kenny on Unsplash

Are you sick of toxic positivity? Join the club, my friend. I swear to God that if someone says any of those phrases to me one more time, I will lose it.

“The pandemic is a blessing” or “The pandemic is the best time to reinvent yourself. Learn a new skill, get fit, change your life! You can do this".

Oh, please, take a walk (and do not come back).

Living a pandemic has been hard for every single person on this planet. You either struggle to find a job or keep the one you have. The mental exhaustion is unprecedented. And fake you are not walking chaos ain’t going to help.

Just the fact that our entire routine went upside down without any previous notice is a recipe for disaster.

We got paranoid about doing what, in my opinion, are the most enjoyable things in life. Drinking a beer and talking with your friends? I can’t do it. Dance your body out over some drinks at a bar? Not going to happen. Going to the beach, sipping some caipirinha, and eating shrimp? Nope. (Maybe I should check how much I have been drinking).

So here is what I did (maybe the word didn’t would fit better) during the COVID-19 pandemic:

Learned no new skill

All I saw online were people learning how to paint, nit, or doing any craftwork. If you were gifted with these talents, good for you! Because I was not.

I always joked, “I was born with two left hands,” because I can not do any handwork. My mom tried to teach me when I was a kid, but she gave up. That is how bad I was.

So no, the pandemic did not grow the urge to produce anything or composing art. I was already very disappointed with many crushed plans, so I didn't want one more failure.

And that was just fine.

I exercised once a week and called myself fit

And who can tell me otherwise? I did not build my six-packs, neither did I lose weight. I managed to eat normally and work out at home to maintain my average shape.

Did I constantly scroll through Instagram, looking at those fitness models,s and wish I had that willingness? Yes. Did I care I wasn't that perseverant? Not one bit!

I exercised when I felt like it. I ran when it was sunny, I did yoga when I felt overwhelmed, and I used free workout apps to inspire me. I trained my mind not to compare myself with those jacket people I saw online, and I am very proud of that.

Did not become an entrepreneur

On everyday social media, you see stories of people who used their free time to open their own business or become freelancers and succeed. I am glad for those who strive and conquered what they wanted. But let’s be honest, they are exceptional.

When we see this kind of news, we tend to think that it was something simple that anyone could do. The truth is, the media doesn’t often show the stories about those who tried and failed. And that is dangerous! Promoting a lifestyle in which people are risking their savings in such a dark time is not prudent.

I managed to keep my job, and that was more than enough. I did not spend my time or money on adventures that could easily jeopardize the little I had. Is that being lazy? Well, you can think whatever you want, but I still have a roof over my head, and I can pay my bills.

Faked my internet was not working

Am I proud of my actions? Hell yes!

My boss played the “bad connection” card on me so often that I learned it very well. I managed to skip many boring and useless meetings. One thing the pandemic taught is that most of these meetings could easily be replaced by e-mails.

I also learned how to give myself a break. As a Ph.D. student, I always thought that I had to answer my advisor right away. I never had peace during the weekend and constantly checked my emails. But not during the pandemic!

If my advisor could tell me, he was overwhelmed and excuses for not replying for over three weeks, so could I.

Did lots of “Nothings”

I could have used my free time to find a new hobby. I could have used my time wisely to do everything I didn’t have time to do before the pandemic. And I did.

I used my time to do nothing! When was the last time you gave yourself a couple of days off?

Just sitting on the sofa, sipping a coffee and thinking about life. Sleeping in and not checking the clock. Being off social media and social life in general. That is what I did (or didn’t do), and I am happy about it.

I am not sure if, in my entire life, I will have as much free time as I had during this pandemic. Maybe I will be busy for the rest of my life, trying to earn money to spend in the only fifteen days off I have per year. So worrying and doing less was my smartest choice, and I don’t regret it.

You either love me or hate me right now

After reading this story, you may think I am an angry and grumpy woman, and honestly, I do not care.

I managed to keep my mental health doing what people judge to be “the bare minimum,” which kept me sain and happy. What else should one ask for?

I am tired of this pandemic, and I am tired of all these positive people and all the good vibes around these dark times. And there is no way you don’t feel the same or have had the same thoughts at some point over the past year.

So please, do me a favor and cut the crap.

--

--

Sophie Jones
Be Unique

Ph.D. and so what? Half of me is science, brain, articles, and reason. The other half is art, heart, therapy, and emotion.