Why Dating Apps Rarely Work

Unless you like a distraction

Marcus Griswold
Be Unique

--

I remember back in high school and college I would make friends with a girl, get to know her, then a small percentage might end up becoming a “girlfriend”. We might do something simple like go to a movie, have a picnic, make out in the back of a car. You know pretty vanilla stuff.

And damn was it easy, because we had already spent a couple of months getting to know each other, to see if we even go along. Yes, that’s right several months and no sex. I might as well be a catholic school girl…well I was an acolyte in church.

You might wonder why this forty-some year old is talking about high school and college? That’s because until 3 years ago I was married to my college sweetheart. So, needless to say, I dove into dating apps, a mix between a deer in the headlights and a kid in a candy store.

Now, I’ve tried nearly all of the apps — the bee, the flame, the okay dokey, the fish, the joint that opens a door, the curvy singles, and other lower-quality apps. (Side note, if you figured out what apps I am actually talking about you’re probably as addicted as I was.)

I’ve tried them all because I don’t actually have a type, much to the disappointment of the person I am dating. By the way, I’m fairly certain I am supposed to say my type is “you” to the…

--

--

Marcus Griswold
Be Unique

Join my list (https://bit.ly/34PWalK) on ecological restoration, climate change solutions, psychology, parenting, and special needs. www.calmwatersgroup.com