Do Video Games Encourage a ‘Hoarder’s Mentality?’

Role-playing games and minimalism don’t belong in the same sentence.

Brandon
Be Unique

--

Ahhh, nothing beats a good old RPG (Role-Playing Game).

From the likes of popular titles such as World of Warcraft to The Elder Scrolls, the RPG genre has had an integral impact on my gaming obsession during my childhood.

From the grind of questing through multiple-hour long dungeons with friends in MMO’s (Massively Multiplayer Online) to exploring the vast landscapes in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, I’ve spent countless hours playing RPG’s alone.

While reminiscing on all of the good times I had while playing these amazing games, I started to wonder:

Why the hell did I carry so much stuff?

For those who haven’t indulged in the amazing world of Skyrim or any other role-playing video game, the character that you control has an inventory, in which that character can hold a certain amount of items of your choosing.

Whether it be healing potions, weapons, or armor, you have the decision to choose what you carry as long it is within the confines of the character’s storage space.

I bring this up because I always made sure to fill up my player’s inventory to the MAX, even with…

--

--

Brandon
Be Unique

2023 update: damn all of my stuff here is cringe