How “Accept Me the Way I Am” Became the Most Toxic Statement I Ever Heard

He said: “accept me the way I am” but what he meant was: “suppress who you are.”

Assumpta Nalubowa
Be Unique

--

Photo by Claudia Barbosa from Pexels

“I don't understand how you don’t watch the news. How can you not be aware of what’s happening around you?”

He said with agitation in his voice. This seemed important to him.
This was not the first time he had complained about my reluctance to let (let’s face it) the most triggering television program into my life.

He had complained a few times before and I’d ignored it.

The way I saw it, the fact that I didn't watch the news was no big deal; It was nothing to ruffle one’s feathers over. The way I saw it, what I chose to let into my life was between me and my mental health. This was an obvious revelation, obvious to any modern-day individual. Or so I thought.

I was wrong.

See, I had been hanging out with him for about a month, and he had shown signs of being an inconsiderate, insensitive individual before.

He made mean comments — small things really, nothing too big. I called him out. I let him know that what he had said was less than kind and in response, he would say, “Please don't judge me. Accept me the way…

--

--

Assumpta Nalubowa
Be Unique

Personal Essayist | Web Technical Writer | For my technical writing, check out: https://sumpycode.hashnode.dev/