How an Acting Class Changed Me

Sometimes confronting your inner demons is the best thing you can do to love yourself.

Enrique Estrada
Be Unique
2 min readJun 12, 2020

--

Photo by Jakob Owens from Unsplash

When I moved to the States I decided to pursue my acting career. Even so, I was scared to have the guts to audition. I felt unconformable with my English proficiency and I found any excuse to avoid taking that jump.

A few years later, I went a downwards spiral after I quit my last job. I felt stuck in my house and I noticed that my life didn’t have any purpose. I started asking myself, “why am I so hollow?” I realized that I missed my inner playful kid who likes to act.

I open my laptop and started searching for classes near me. After a few searches, I finally found one. At that moment, I got scared once more. My inner demons started to resurface, but this time I was strong.

Finally, the day of the first class arrived. I enter this big bright room with chairs organized in a circle. I decided to sit down in one and wait patiently for the professor to arrive. People started entering one by one, with the same look as me. They looked scared and a bit uncomfortable. In general, we didn’t know what to expect.

The professor arrived and introduced himself. Following that, everyone started to present themselves. I noticed that we were on the same boat. We were all adults who were distracted by our inner voices and ignored our passions. Everyone wanted to let their inner kid out to play, but they were scared to do so.

Photo by Eduardo Pastor on Unsplash

The class went on, but as fellow students, we became closer to one another. It was okay to make mistakes because it was part of the learning process. We learn from each other about our strengths and our weaknesses. I can say, it was a beautiful experience.

Till this day I take acting classes to uplift myself. I’m more confident in my daily routine and I love myself a little bit more each day that passes. I still haven’t had the chance to take the step to do an audition. However, I’m ready to do so after everything stabilizes in the world.

If you have the opportunity to take an acting class, definitely don’t be scared to do so. You’ll learn that you’re way stronger than you really are. You will discover the confidence that you never knew you had in yourself. Don’t let the inner demons tell you, “you can’t do it!”

--

--

Enrique Estrada
Be Unique

Hi, I’m a freelance writer. I have a degree in Journalism from the University of Puerto Rico. I’m pursing my acting career and a master’s degree in Special Ed.