How I Made Literal Stacks On Medium

In My First Month👨‍🚀

Joey Bertschler
Be Unique
4 min readAug 25, 2020

--

Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

“Another pile of stacks?” my roommate asked. “Please bro, I keep tripping over your stacks. At least put them in a bag or something.”

I can’t help it, they keep coming I replied.

That was 48 minutes ago. I had just left my spot under the bridge to head to the nearest cafe and get started on my next piece for Medium. Each one is more profitable than the last. To this day I am stunned at how so many writers struggle when all you need to do is be genuine and authentic. Just document your life, that’s it!

Are you pushing out content on the regular?

It all started with my article on the New York Times. Pushing myself, I aimed towards reading 2 entire articles a month as opposed to one. This required a premium membership.

Monthly Budget

However, these come with hefty price tags of several dollars every single month.

While I was ready to make the sacrifice, I needed to make sure it would not auto-renew before I had sufficient funds.

Given that one note is $0.03 and my monthly expenses total 75.43 rupees (~$0.987) I had to start making at least one stack a month.

A stack of these, at about an inch of thickness, totals $3.

My NYT odyssey did not last very long, but I knew this too would pass. The answer to all my problems was simple: more content.

How to improve at writing? Write
Not getting enough views? Write more (skills = stonks)

Medium = ATM

My writing started to take off way quicker than I could have ever expected.

With just a few more good pieces, I would be able to purchase my dream car. All I had to do was stop being lazy, and write!

Photo by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

At first, it might seem like a bad idea but by comparing the quantity and quality of articles, we can see a clear correlation.
More articles = more good articles = more profit.

Notice the increase in good pieces in August!

A couple of dollars might not mean much to you, but for others, it can be life-changing.

The absolute lowest federal minimum wage is in Sierra Leone, where workers can expect just $0.03/hour. India is the lowest among larger economies with a $0.28/hour rate.

Unsurprisingly, billions.

How To Views

Thoughtful articles on relevant topics do well. If they are authentic and have something unique they are likely to be curated and read (original research, data visualization, artworks, photos…). Submitting to a publication helps too.

Conclusion

It’s all about perspective. I wrote a few articles and instantly saw returns. I have yet to take many writing courses, write thousands of pieces, and take in loads of expert advice. I have had my fair share of trials but in the grand scheme of things, it’s but the start.

Medium can be your journal, your study notes, even the book you have been wanting to write.

As Benjamin Franklin put it:

🖊

--

--

Joey Bertschler
Be Unique

Data science, AI and data visualization with code and no-code tools.