How TikTok Taught Me to Cook

And why I recommend it

Hailey Chantalle
Be Unique
4 min readFeb 28, 2021

--

Okay, I’ll admit it. I grew up pretty spoiled.

As a child of divorce, my parents were always in a battle of trying to be the most likable or fun parent. I never really had to fend for myself. I barely had any chores and never had to cook dinner for myself. Besides, it seemed like such a waste of time. Spending an hour cooking something that I would eat in five minutes? I just didn’t think this was for me.

This resulted in me being twenty-three years old and only knowing the basics. I could cook a mean grilled cheese and could make the perfect scrambled eggs… but that’s where my kitchen skills ended.

Then I decided to move out.

Now what? I can’t possibly survive on canned soup and boiled pasta, can I?

My first trip to the grocery store was overwhelming. All I knew was that my kitchen was completely empty and I needed food. That’s it. I (foolishly) didn’t have a list. I knew nothing about what basic staple items my kitchen should have or what ingredients I would need to put any sort of meal together. I went to the frozen food aisle, packed up, and made my way out, discouraged. I knew that this was a pathetic first grocery haul and none of these items would be put to good use.

I decided I needed to get educated for my own health (and tastebuds).

I browsed the app store for some recipe apps and even downloaded a couple, but after opening and scrolling through them for a few minutes, I was discouraged. These recipes were so long to read, and I couldn’t tell how difficult they would be just by reading the steps. I was very inexperienced. Not only was I discouraged, but I was intimidated. The only pictures were ones of the finished meal, how would I know if I was on the right track while cooking? What if I screwed it up before I even started?

Next, I checked Youtube. Okay, not a bad option. You could see the steps and follow along in real-time. You could also see what the food is supposed to look like at the end of each step. But finding the videos is difficult if you don’t know what you’re looking for. Sure, I want to cook, but I don’t even know what I want to make. Not to mention, these videos are so long. I mean, you’re telling me I have to watch a full video to determine whether I want to even make the recipe, then watch it again while cooking? Seems like a waste of time.

So I thought to myself, where can I find the same visuals but cut down the time it will take me to find recipes I like?

And that’s when it dawned on me, TikTok. The app limits its user's videos to one minute. The app of our generation. Could this app be the answer to my prayers?

someone holding an iphone with the app Tiktok open
Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

I opened the app, clicked on the search bar, typed in “simple dinners” (I knew my limits), and pressed enter. The results loaded and a plethora of videos was on the screen. From simple sheet-pan recipes to crockpot recipes, there were so many options. I hit the jackpot! I clicked and started watching the under one-minute videos. It was amazing. I’d watch a short video and know the ingredients I’d need, the time it would take to cook, how the food will look, and how difficult the steps would be. For young people with short attention spans, this is the way to go.

I gained so much confidence, simply by watching the videos. It looked so easy, why was I ever intimidated before? Not only did this increase my confidence, but I even started enjoying finding new recipes. My “For You Page” suddenly consisted of mostly cooking videos and I loved it.

My first few cooking attempts weren’t perfect, but they were fun. I knew I would get the hang of it eventually. I loved the visual aspect of following along with the TikTok creator (even though I had to pause the video every few seconds) and knowing how the food should look after every step.

Soon, going to the grocery store was a treat. What new recipes will I try this week? Should I meal prep? I wonder if I’ll enjoy this one more than last night’s meal?

Final Thoughts

Not only did TikTok teach me to cook, but it allowed me to enjoy it. It simplified everything and allowed me to focus on what’s most important — fuelling my body with healthy and tasty food. I am no longer stressed about prep time, finding recipes, or wondering if my skills will be up to par.

Now, let me tell you, I’m no master chef. But for my limited experience, I’m impressed with my newfound skills and I’m improving every day. Not only am I cooking healthy meals for myself, but I’ve found a new hobby.

I’m buying ingredients and getting in the kitchen, and that’s way more than I ever did before.

Whoever said TikTok was just for lazy kids to waste time on was sorely mistaken.

--

--

Hailey Chantalle
Be Unique

Just a small town girl with a passion for writing