I Did Not Fulfill Last Year’s Resolution, And That’s Okay

Some resolutions are bound to fall out with time.

hustlelead How S.
Be Unique

--

Image by Valerie Castano from Pixabay

I was in Taipei, Taiwan on New Year Eve, huddled with other students under the dizzying tower of Taipei 101.

The sky was dark and musky, and the rain did not help. I was with a group of newly made friends brought together by circumstances. We had a “brilliant” idea of catching the fireworks in the prime district of Taipei, where thousands of party-goers gather and crowd the single most popular building that was now shrouded from view in the wet atmosphere.

As we huddled in the cold, donned in raincoats and jackets with umbrellas literally blocking the view, I remembered having a New Year’s Resolutions conversation.

One of them wanted to learn the guitar. Another wanted to move to a new country after graduation.

“What’s your New Years' resolution?” a friend asked.

“Hmmm, I want to learn the Japanese language” I replied.

Three hundred and sixty-six (2020 is a leap year) days later, I did not fulfill last year’s new year resolution of learning a new language, but I told myself that that is okay.

--

--

hustlelead How S.
Be Unique

aspiring writer striving to love the process | Cybersecurity analyst | Physics tutor | Owns bitcoin TW&IG&LI:@hustlelead E:hustle.lead@gmail[.]com