I Have A Computer Science Degree, Now What?

Graduate jobs require more than just a graduate with a related degree.

Jeanne Elizabeth Daniel
Be Unique
5 min readAug 23, 2020

--

It’s 2016. I just finished my B.Sc in Mathematical Science (Stream Computer Science) at Stellenbosch University in South Africa. Even though I had spent 3 grueling years juggling mathematics, actuarial statistics, graph theory, advanced algorithms, numerical methods, parallel programming, requirements specifications and web development, I felt no more prepared for the working world than I was when I was a first year. I had completed exactly one 3-week internship at a financial institution. And honestly, I did not know where to go next. Computer science taught me a set of valuable skills, rather than a vocation. I knew I did not want to go into backend development, or website maintenance, or network security, or database management. I wanted something more mathy, but did not have enough industry experience to know what this direction would be.

I think many other young people are passionate and eager to work, but finding the right job to match your skill set can be difficult. I’ve received many messages on LinkedIn from undergraduates (and graduates) asking what they can do with a degree in Applied Mathematics, Statistics, or Computer Science.

Setting your own course

Its important to know what you are passionate about. My passion was solving hard problems, but I lacked direction. For 3 years I had thought no further than completing the next project or (barely) passing the next exam. Studying a degree sets mini milestones on your path. This helps guide your growth and development, but ultimately you are being driven by external forces. You do not learn how to set your own course. Finishing your degree is like leaving the nest: you now have to learn to self-motivate, and the feedback on the work you do is much more sparse.

Shifting job markets

This feeling of not knowing where to go next can be overwhelming. The job market has shifted so much from vocational positions, like doctors and accountants, to wanting particular skills, such as critical thinking, creativity, problem solving, communication skills, for more and more vague job descriptions like scrum masters, quantitative analysts, and content creators.

In general, if you study medicine, you know you will become a doctor and you will apply for positions at hospitals or medical practices. But if you study more general degrees that teach you a set of skills that is not vocation-specific, the possibilities are endless. I’ve met a head of recruitment that had a PhD in Infectious Diseases, a data scientist that had a PhD in Astrophysics, and a head of social media marketing that studied Food Science. And the reason for this is that what they studied taught them a variety of skills — including problem solving, and critical thinking — which generally aren’t developed in the vacuum of theory and vocation-specific training.

What’s more is that career trajectories in non-vocational positions aren’t linear! They look more like squiggly lines drawn by a three-year old. Meanwhile, vocational training puts you on a very guided, linear trajectory. Some people enjoy this certainty and job security. And that’s fine. The world will always need vocational positions like lawyers, accountants, doctors, and teachers.

The rise of soft skills

I remember a discussion I had with a computer science lecturer in my third year. He was concerned that I was taking on a leadership position, because he felt that that would negatively impact my studies. I thought his advice was very short-sighted. It was a weird experience, because I thought the importance of developing soft skills would be as obvious to other people as it was to me. Frankly, calling it soft skills is misleading, because it is arguably harder to master effective communication and critical thinking than triple integrals. Some of the soft skills employers value most are:

  • communication,
  • critical thinking,
  • leadership,
  • positive attitude,
  • teamwork,
  • work ethic,
  • problem solving,
  • and self-awareness.

Another challenge of vocation-specific careers is that they usually take place in very hierarchical environments. Doctors start as interns, lawyers start as associates and accountants start as trainees at big organisations. This means that essential soft skills like leadership and mentorship are only really practiced after a few years of working, and in a much more high pressure environment. And so, we see more and more managers who do not know how to motivate their teams without yelling at them. This does not bode well for future leaders.

Advice for young graduates

Ten years from now you will probably be doing something you never imagined you would do, based on your choice of degree. That is okay. The world is changing so fast, and we need to adapt faster. It’s almost Darwinian.

Do not strive for a certain position. That position might be made redundant by new technology very soon. Rather strive for excellence in your skillset. Find yourself a mentor, someone who listens well and can give you advice on your path. Figure out what you are passionate about, and be willing to fail many times over. The truth is that very few people go into the industry with more than a basic understanding of how things work. You get at the job and you “fake it till you make it!”

Value soft skills as much as hard skills. Technical knowledge can only bring you so far, eventually you will have to work with and even manage teams. Perhaps one day you want to start your own business!

Just try and improve 1% every day in some field of your choice. You will be amazed how quickly you progress by just dedicating 1 hour a day to reading or learning. Start applying for internships, and don’t be afraid to apply for internships outside of your comfort zone or area of expertise — its all about learning and building experience to put on your CV.

Closing remarks

So what did I do about my predicament back in 2016? Well, I did what every other graduate, who does not know where to go next, does. I called my dad and told him I have decided to study further. Since then, I’ve done a masters in Applied Mathematics, short courses on emotional intelligence and leadership, as well as three more internships.

Today, my focus is on improving my knowledge and skill set in my field, as well as learning from other fields to supplement my understanding of the world. I am setting my own course, with future milestones and slowly figuring out what I want to be when I finally grow up — I’m 25, but still!

I would love to hear your feedback. Feel free to email me at jeanne.e.daniel@gmail.com.

--

--

Jeanne Elizabeth Daniel
Be Unique

Modern problems require innovative solutions. Senior data scientist by day at www.stubbenedgelabs.com