BE UNIQUE

Literally this ONE Trick Keeps Me Healthy and Saves Time and Money

Christina Tsiripidou
Be Unique
Published in
3 min readJun 9, 2020

--

Source: pexels.com

When I decided to start taking care of my body and nourish myself, I was a busy bee and I still am, but I guess it is more important to mention how I was then as it was a start of a new journey for me.

I was working at a full-time marketing agency, I was leading a busy social life as I liked taking up various activities, meeting new people, and fill my life with experiences that I would remember.

However, as my health was taking a toll, I decided to start nourishing myself better which for me meant also increasing the consumption of the home-cooked meals, meaning spending more time in the kitchen, cooking and preparing meals, and snacks.

I definitely did not want to spend all my energy cooking every evening after work. I still wanted to have the time to go to the gym, join various activities and meetup groups in order to meet new people in the city where my social network was relatively limited. You see I am from Greece and I moved to London for work, so I had to make an intentional effort to make friends.

I was single back then so I just had to take care of myself and that allowed me to do lots of experimentation. Initially, I would cook two servings to have over two consecutive days. But then something clicked and I started cooking between three to four servings. I would still eat a meal for two consecutive days but I would save one or two servings in the freezer for the days I would not be able to cook.

What a life-changer!

I noticed three things happening:

  • I would spend less time and money at the supermarket and also eating out.
  • I would spend less time thinking of what I would cook, and
  • There would be weeks that I would not need to cook at all! YES!!!

Specifically, I remember this one week, that every day after work I had something to do and I would get home so tired that I would shower and then get into bed. In the morning, I would grab a meal out of the freezer and I would have it at lunch. No money spent on eating lunch out.

At the end of that week, I was so much in awe that cooking in bulk has stuck with me since then. Nowadays, I think it is a waste to cook for one or two servings per person when since I am cooking I can make more and save the additional servings in the freezer for those days that things get too intense.

Source: pexels.com

Cooking in bulk keeps me healthy, allows me to save money for activities such as traveling or spending in lush experiences, and frees up time for friends and family. Not to mention that I spend less mental energy on having to think about what to eat and where to eat it!

I am really curious to find out what is one thing that helps you stay healthy and at the same time lead the life you have chosen for your self. So, let me know in the comments below and I may give it a go.

--

--

Christina Tsiripidou
Be Unique

Marketer by Profession. I got certified as a Health Coach in 2016 & I am attending an MSc in Clinical Nutrition. I love sharing food recipes & life wisdom :).