Looking for Validation in All the Wrong Places

The search by women to be legitimized

Suzanna Quintana
Be Unique
Published in
8 min readMay 6, 2020

--

My life up until I was in my late forties could be described as one long journey of seeking validation from those around me. Because I had grown up with an emotionally abusive father who cemented my lack of worth at every turn, once I left home at the age of 18 I was already fully trained in the art of jumping through hoops and balancing balls on my nose to get the attention of whoever happened to be standing in front of me at the moment, but especially from the men I would love and marry.

Since I had spent my childhood and teenage years vying for my father’s attention, approval, and love, all of which I never received, it made perfect sense that I would fall right into marriages with men who took over my father’s role and compelled me to continue in my own.

A role resembling that of a puppy who, once their owner finally arrives home, pees on the floor and thus gets bopped on the nose and admonished from the very person they were waiting for.

The worst loneliness is to not be comfortable with yourself. — Mark Twain

Women are trained from the time they are young to stand silently by and wait to be spoken to, wait to be noticed, wait to be complimented…

--

--

Suzanna Quintana
Be Unique

My voice is my superpower. Editor-in-Chief of The Virago. Founder of The Online Sanctuary for Healing After Narcissistic Abuse. www.suzannaquintana.com