BE UNIQUE

Personality Types: How to Level up Your People Skills

Fix your communication and make teamwork great again

Alex Miguel Meyer
Be Unique
Published in
9 min readJun 14, 2020

--

A few years back, after my 36th misunderstanding that year, I decided to research the topic of effective communication. Quickly I realized that in order to master communication, I had to take a step back and start with understanding personality. In this article, I will share with you my most important insights.

First of all, what is personality? Many different definitions can be found. For this article I’ll go with the one of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, that defines a personality as follows:

“… a characteristic way of thinking, feeling, and behaving. Personality embraces moods, attitudes, and opinions and is most clearly expressed in interactions with other people.”

Why does it matter? Because it is the secret sauce for successful communication and collaboration. Becoming aware of your own and other people’s personality types is crucial for effective teamwork or negotiations or any other activity that involves other people. It will allow you to adapt your communication style according to the other person’s preferences. This helps to establish bonds and to prevent misunderstandings as well as unnecessary conflict.

--

--

Alex Miguel Meyer
Be Unique

Instructor & Coach I Founder of the Career Accelerator I Assess your career skills here: https://alexander-yrocgkao.scoreapp.com