Quarantine Made Me Do It

I learned my lesson

Taylor Ashley
Be Unique
2 min readAug 28, 2020

--

Photo by Bundo Kim on Unsplash

Volunteering in Nepal and traveling around Asia for the last 7 years taught me a few things. One of them being, I’m a strong believer in daily connections with strangers. Whether it be tossing a ball back to kids playing in the street or sharing stories with new friends over tea on a train in India, those seemingly insignificant human interactions are invigorating. When meeting other travelers forming long-lasting friendships isn’t in the cards, but we are experts at sharing experiences and short bursts of camaraderie.

I didn’t think anything would force me back home. I traveled through the last few health scares and even survived the Kathmandu earthquake. It was amazing how fast COVID-19 transpired from off my radar to me boarding a repatriation flight to the States. Now as a 30-something back living with her parents with no friends for miles, the loneliness sets in. My world is now confined to a few square feet. Trips to the grocery store are the only times I see other people outside of my computer screen. The cart boy will smile behind his mask and say have a nice day. At least, it sounds like he’s smiling. It’s nice to hear.

Craving connection, I would go online to social media where I would see all of my friends competing in the latest Instagram challenges. Secretly wishing someone would tag me but no one ever doing so, I watched and mocked their pushups, zoom parties, and TikToks. Desperately craving attention, but trying not to ask for it was a struggle.

Quarantine pushed me past my breaking point. I finally went against my better judgment sending “IN” to a friend’s second plea for participants to join an international book exchange. It was a selfless act to send a book to a stranger in Spain. I wasn’t expecting anyone to respond to my post, embarrassed as I reluctantly clicked Add to Story. I was shocked when the replies kept coming and four days later there was a book in the mail. Then another and another. Books with little notes from strangers. I tried to imagine what kind of person sent me The Count of Monte Cristo or who would send me a Joanna Gaines’ cookbook. It was a fun game. They were tiny connections that made my day a little bit brighter than the day before.

As I got ridiculed from others for my book exchange, I realized we all have to stop being haters sometimes and believe in the power of small acts of kindness. I’m ready for the next challenge and will try to stop sabotaging my chances of connection.

Maybe you should do the same.

--

--

Taylor Ashley
Be Unique

Searching for home. Meeting people, seeing places, and making life observations along the way.