The Lack of Diversity in the Fitness Industry is a Huge Problem

Ayomide Ojebuoboh
Be Unique
Published in
5 min readSep 11, 2020
Image from lograstudio at pixabay

When I was younger, I wanted to be skinner and lighter. I eventually let go of the desire to be lighter, but continually clung to this pursuit of ‘thinness’. At school, I saw White and Black girls who were very thin and in society, I felt like that body type was constantly praised. When I attended a summer high school program, a White, thin girl from Lithuania was constantly praised as beautiful and considered a model because of her tiny frame. But, I was not as thin as her, so although I was tall, I did not receive the same acknowledgement at that age. At the same time, one of my closest friends in high school was also a beautiful, thin white girl, so I felt like I had to be thinner because I thought thinner must be healthier and better. Right?

Once again, I didn’t have Black female role models to look up to with my more broad shoulders and an athletic built frame. This became an even bigger problem when I started to gain more interest in fitness because in my pursuit for a different body frame, I was always in a constant battle of wanting to lose weight.When I was in college, I would watch many exercise videos on Youtube from predominantly White women which further perpetuated my unhealthy mindset. The lack of representation in the fitness industry gave me a deeper desire to change my body to look one particularly way — small and thin.

Image from skeeze at pixabay

Fortunately, there were two Black women that I also looked up to in my life in the fitness industry: Scola Dondo and Serena Williams. Scola is aYoutuber who has talked about her weight loss journey and also posts fun exercise dance videos and Serena Williams, a professional tennis player, embodied Black female strength. So many people have thrown rude words at Serena due to her body figure but she constantly inspires me and other young Black girls who are interested in fitness.

If we don’t increase the diversity in the fitness industry, then, the fitness industry will continually cater to two groups of people — men and thin, white women. I am not just talking about racial diversity by the way. I am also talking about body diversity. Genetically not all bodies are the same. Some are naturally thinner while some have wider hips and thighs. All are beautiful. All should be celebrated and all should be represented in the fitness industry.

If we truly want to make America healthy, we should pursue diversifying the fitness industry.

I don’t want young Black girls to go through what I went through for almost 10 years of my life. I want them to pursue a balanced, healthy lifestyle, not one particular body type. They are wonderfully made and diversifying the fitness industry will help them know that since they are beautiful, they can keep their body healthy and strong through exercise.

Perhaps many Black people and those of different body shapes aren’t in the industry, not because they don’t want to, but because they feel discouraged joining. At least, that is my story. For too long, I was hesitant to pursue a personal training certification because I thought that I didn’t have the perfect tiny frame or super muscular figure to train people well, but I love fitness and I want to help people with that too, so I am currently going through the certification process.

If you are not in the thinnest body frame and/or are an underrepresented minority interested in being involved in the fitness industry but are scared about whether or not you ‘look the part’ I say: “go for it” because we need you in the industry.You are important. Your story and your journey is valuable. There is someone else who may have your experiences and is just looking for someone who might understand them more.

Image from @balanceathletica on Instagram
Image from @balanceathletica on Instagram

Fortunately, there is hope because things are changing slowly . For example, Balance Athletica is a 2 year fitness industry that intentionally creates clothes that will support all shapes and sizes. Their clothes are on the pricey end BUT I honestly think it is so worth it because they are all about creating fitness clothes that support any body and they are long-lasting material! Follow them on instagram @balanceathletica to see fitness women from different body types wearing their fitness outfits! This year, I have also come across people on Instagram who are embracing diversity in fitness. If you need any encouragement on your fitness journey and you don’t feel represented due to your body or race, I hope that these instagram feeds will encourage you:

  • @ajahzifit: You have to follow her! She recently made a super affordable training program that will truly help women of all shapes.
  • @danyelewilson: this girl deserves more followers and makes me feel more confident due to my particular body frame.
  • @alittletaeste: another Black girl who is a UCLA medical school student with fire workouts.
  • @theqii_tofitness: QiQi is a queen and you will feel like exercising even more after following her.
  • @avh_fitness: Do you wanna smile? Then follow this girl immediately! She gives good workout content and uplifting instagram stories.
  • @lauras_fit_to_live: She has an amazing platform truly promoting body positivity!
  • @thesamplan: Sam is the reason I know about Balance. She boldly talks about loving our bodies and body image!

Let me leave you with also a food for thought. Maybe people choose not to exercise not to because they don’t want to, but because they don’t see someone who looks like them in the fitness industry. As a generation, we can decide to change that narrative. I chose to change that narrative for my life and my future kids. Now, will you?

--

--

Ayomide Ojebuoboh
Be Unique

A writer interested in social justice and deep convos on random topics