The Long Termers

Caroline M
Be Unique
Published in
8 min readJul 2, 2020

--

“What’s the name on your reservation?”

“Liza Urtzen.”

“And you’ll be here for 3 nights?”

“Yep, that’s right.”

“Great. So where did you come from?”

“Like…most recently come from or come from in life?”

The corners of the Hostel manager’s mouth turned up as he chuckled, “I guess both.”

“Well, I just drove about 7 hours from a farm outside of Auckland. I was Woofing there because I wanted to learn about sustainable agriculture. It was pretty cool I guess, but also mostly…terrible? Hence the 7-hour drive to escape to Wellington. But in general, I’m from the States. Are you also judging by your accent?”

“Ha, I’m Canadian…and slightly offended you’d assume I’m American, but I’ll let it slide. Anyways, welcome! This should be a bit of an upgrade coming from farm living. Do you know much about Wellington or do you want me to show you around?”

“I know absolutely nothing. Any information or tour would be super helpful. What’s your name again?”

“Noah. Here, let me show you around.”

Noah walked around the other side of the reception desk to help Liza with her bags and show her around. Liza had been from hostel to hostel and a series of farms throughout all of North Island…

--

--